Evens Foundation
Living together harmoniously in Europe

Evens Arts Prize 2009

Evens Arts Prize 2009
In 2009, the Evens Foundation decided to award its Arts Prize to a young artist who lives or works in the European Union, and whose work is closely related to the Evens Foundation's mission and objectives.


An independant jury nominated different artists and Agnieszka Podgórska was selected as the winner of the Evens Arts Prize 2009. The jury was chaired by Ernest Van Buynder, Board Member of the Evens Foundation and former chairman of the Museum for Contemporary Art in Antwerp (MuHKA).
Agnieszka Podgórska is an artist who uses digital photography. Her work portrays the human body devoid of social codes and symbolic references. It makes one aware of how the body is ‘the first language’ in our relationship with others, and is a prerequisite for living together. Born in Poland, Agnieszka lives in France, has worked in Italy and exhibits in Europe generally.

In May 2009, in collaboration with the Fondation Hippocrène in Paris, the Evens Foundation organized a round-table debate on the work of the artist. Click here to see the video.

The awards ceremony took place at the University of Antwerp, on 13th November 2009, during a conference, in cooperation with the University. An academic discourse was presented by Professor dr. Chris Van den Wyngaert, Permanent Judge at the International Criminal Court in The Hague. She was introduced by Emeritus Professor dr. Baron Marc Bossuyt, Chairman of the Constitutional Court of Belgium. The prize was presented by European Commissioner Karel De Gucht. Click here to see the video.

The Evens Foundation also produced a publication featuring the artist’s work, as well as selected work by the other candidates.

The selection committee and jury:
Manuel Costa Cabral (PT): Head of the Department of Visual Arts at the Gulbenkian Foundation
Bart De Baere (BE): Director of MuHKA Museum for Contemporary Art, Antwerp
Dr Willem Elias (BE): Dean of the Faculty of Psychology and Education Sciences, Free University Brussels; Chairman of the Higher Institute for Fine Arts, Flanders (HISK)
Yoyo Maeght (FR): Administrator at the Fondation Maeght, Saint-Paul
Paolo Naldini (IT): Director of Cittadellarte – Fondazione Pistoletto
Aneta Szylak (PL): Director of the Wyspa Institute of Art, Gdansk
Dr Jeanette Zwingenberger (FR): Curator and author, art historian, Fondation Hippocrène