Evens Foundation
Living together harmoniously in Europe

Evens Arts Prize 2013

Evens Arts Prize 2013
An independent jury decided to award the Evens Arts Prize 2013 to Wim Vandekeybus and his company Ultima Vez.

After careful consideration, an international jury of seven has chosen a laureate out of a shortlist of eleven candidates from nine European countries, representing various artistic disciplines (choreography, writing, painting, etc).

The Evens Foundation is proud to announce that the sixth laureate of the Evens Arts Prize is Wim Vandekeybus, a Belgian choreographer, dancer, film director and actor, and his dance company Ultima Vez. Wim Vandekeybus receives the Prize for his important contribution to European contemporary dance, for his multidisciplinary work and for his social and cultural commitment at both local and international level. The prize-giving ceremony will take place at the opening event of December Dance 2013 in Concertgebouw Brugge on 4 December 2013.

The jury for the Evens Arts Prize 2013:

Michal Chacinski (PL) – Artistic Director of the Gdynia Film Festival
Nick Elam (UK) – Former British Ambassador, Administrator of the Caine Prize for African Writing, London
Filippo Fabbrica – Director of Love Difference, Artistic movement for an InterMediterranean Politic (representing Mr Pistoletto, artist and founder of Città Dell’arte)
Walter Geerts (BE) – Professor at the University of Antwerp in French and Italian literature and film, former Director of the Academia Belgica in Rome
Jan Raes (BE) – Managing Director of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra in Amsterdam
Luc Reychler (BE) – International Relations; Peace Research, Negotiation and Strategic Studies; Faculty of Social Sciences Leuven; Institute for International and European Policy
Gottfried Wagner (AT) – Special envoy for international cultural-political projects, Austrian Ministry for Education, Arts and Culture; Former Director of the European Cultural Foundation

The jury was chaired by Ernest Van Buynder, Board Member of the Evens Foundation and former Chairman of the Museum for Contemporary Art in Antwerp (M HKA).